| non-breaking space

Father's Day

I was standing in the kitchen last night
at my wit's end and asking for help.
See, I read this book once that said if you open your heart and ask for help, it will come.
So I said, "Sophie (because I refer to God by my grandmother's name)
I need help. And I need it now. In fact, tomorrow is Father's Day,
so I need some help tomorrow."
And I was talking to the vent in the kitchen ceiling.
Because I was looking up and there it was.
So I begged the vent for help.
I begged the vent for some insight that would help me get through this.
But I know God doesn't work that way.
In fact, if you ask for proof, he goes into the bathroom and reads People magazine.
So I got no proof.
But I'm still here.
Because this morning. My daughter drove by my house.
A day late and a dollar short.
But that's kind of how it is. Isn't it?
God and Sophie and us, we're always a day late and a dollar short.